NITROUS OXIDE ( nos / n2o ) advice forum

Nitrous Oxide ( NOS / N20 ) Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 6:23 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Minimax wiring for 4 pulsoids with ssr
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:11 pm 

I have tried using 4 pulsoids (2xfuel 2xnos) on a minimax controller wired as below but they don't seem to be firing and on further investigation the minimax is only designed to fire 2, I know I need to add a ssr to the system but I'm no electrician! Do I need an ssr for each pulsoid and can anyone point me where to include them/it into the diagram below and what wire goes where?
Thanks

Advertisement

Wizards of NOS Conact US
 Post subject: Re: Minimax wiring for 4 pulsoids with ssr
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:56 am 
Wizard

IF you could use an SSR (as long as it's responsive enough) this is how it should be in a wiring diagram (forgive my really poor painting skills) :albino: :

Attachment:
8F62A897-BA34-4AF9-995E-BAA807C0D0F6.png
8F62A897-BA34-4AF9-995E-BAA807C0D0F6.png [ 138.52 KiB | Viewed 17063 times ]

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:43 am 

That's great just what I'm after thanks so what positions 1-4 on the relay below would go where on the new diagram?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:21 am 
Wizard

The load (orange) goes to poles 1 & 2, power (red) goes to pole 3, and ground/earth (black) is 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:56 am 

Thank you sir you have saved me a lot of headaches! :yes:

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:54 pm 
Wizard

:yes:

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:49 pm 
Site Admin

That particular SSR will NOT be suitable for your purpose, as it's an AC (alternating current device) and not a DC device.

You also need an SSR that has adequate current carrying capability, which if you want to power all 4 by one unit, needs to be in excess of 30 Amps.