NITROUS OXIDE ( nos / n2o ) advice forum

Nitrous Oxide ( NOS / N20 ) Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:28 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Recommendations at Higher Levels of Nitrous Use
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:37 pm 
Learner

I have been using a modified Yamaha FJ1100 for drag racing for several years, and the last fee years have turned to one mile land speed racing (events are usually held on closed airport runways - no “prep work” accomplished on the “track” surface - just timing lights installed, etc.

I’ve sprayed up to 150 HP of nitrous on the engine and am looking to up that as high as 250 HP this year.

What recommendations do you have?

Here is what we have run successfully in the past (and in parentheses are planned changes for this year)

1349 cc big bore in XJR siamesed cylinder. (Plan to use Ross pistons - full skirt design and smoother piston top than other FJ/XJR pistons available - no “ridge” between the valve cut outs)

.0022” top ring gap
.0020” second ring gap

(Base gaskets stacked to put the piston .04-.05” in the hole. Head gasket is .040” - to give .090” quench — or lack of!) I think we previously set the piston even with the deck — will have to check with my engine builder/sponsor

Cylinder head
Stock sized intake valves
Stock sized exhaust valves (1mm oversized exhaust valves for this year)
Mild performance camshafts (slightly larger exhaust cam for this year)
Stock style shim over bucket valve train
Minor port cleanup
Combustion chambers opened up to bore size - unshroud valves and decrease compression

4-1 exhaust with open megaphone

C-16 race fuel (strongly considering Ignite 114 ethanol based race fuel based on Ransom Holbrook’s suggestions)

Fuel injection conversion utilizing Yamaha FJR throttle bodies (with Subaru WRX injectors) and Megasquirt MS3X ECU.

I’m running a dry nitrous setup utilizing WON bottle valve, 250 pulsoid, Y blocks, and discharge tubes.